Walk on the Wildflower Side


California’s rainy winter brought a stellar season of spring wildflowers.

The past few months have been a splendid celebration of the state’s natural botanical heritage. 

Wildflower, Nature, Photography, Flower, Color, Macro, Landscape, Nikon

Nature’s Impressions

“Where flowers bloom so does hope.”

~Lady Bird Johnson

Wildflower, Nature, Photography, Flower, Color, Macro, Landscape, Nikon

Sunlit

 

Wildflower, Nature, Photography, Flower, Color, Macro, Landscape, Nikon

Pretty in Purple

 

Wildflower, Nature, Photography, Flower, Color, Macro, Landscape, Nikon

Field of Colors

“The earth laughs in flowers.” 

~Ralph Waldo Emerson

Wildflower, Nature, Photography, Flower, Color, Macro, Landscape, Nikon

Delicate

 

Wildflower, Nature, Photography, Flower, Color, Macro, Landscape, Nikon

Complements of Nature

 

Wildflower, Nature, Photography, Flower, Color, Macro, Landscape, Nikon

Orange Burst

 

“I must have flowers, always, and always.” 

~ Claude Monet

Wildflower, Nature, Photography, Flower, Color, Macro, Landscape, Nikon

Sea Dreams

 

Wildflower, Nature, Photography, Flower, Color, Macro, Landscape, Nikon

Going Solo

 

Wildflower, Nature, Photography, Flower, Color, Macro, Landscape, Nikon

Glory

 

Wildflower, Nature, Photography, Flower, Color, Macro, Landscape, Nikon

My Little Pretties

 

 

 

Heritage

Categories: Color My World, Flowers, Plants and Trees, Landscapes, Macro, Nature, Photography, Weekly Photo ChallengeTags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

106 comments

  1. Field of Colors is my favorite of this exceptional series, Jane! Beautiful composition of intimate landscape. Happy days! Reinhold

  2. That’s a dizzying variety. The insects must be popping.

  3. What a celebration of wildflowers, Jane! 🙂 I especially love ‘delicate’.

  4. What a fabulous wildflower gallery! Breathtaking…

  5. Wow! What a wonderful selection of wildflowers! I just discovered your site via a comment you made on Rabirius. You definitely have an inspiring and top-notch collection of all sorts of images! I was looking at your portfolio on your web site – great shots of kids – love the one of the little girl standing on the beach facing those dig waves. Looking forward to checking in via following you Jane!

  6. So beautiful Jane. Tough to pick a favourite but I love Pretty in Purple.

    • Thank you, Edith. I have been having a great time wildflower hunting. I learned they are called Purple Tansy or Lacy Phacelia (if you are into identifying them!) Hope you are doing well.

  7. Been waiting for this one Jane – and you, of course, did not disappoint! Glorious

  8. That poppy field is stunning! You have definitely captured the vibrant colors of California this year.

  9. Happy wildflowers to you in California, Jane. Glad you found so many to revel in.

    I can’t remember if I mentioned this to you: the Emerson quotation appears in many places on the Internet, but it’s an altered and truncated version that changes the sense of the original. The poem it comes from is an ironic commentary on the way people take pride in possessing things and claiming the land, but soon enough the earth claims those people back. Here’s the relevant line:

    Earth laughs in flowers, to see her boastful boys
    Earth-proud, proud of the earth which is not theirs;
    Who steer the plough, but cannot steer their feet
    Clear of the grave.

    You can find the full poem at

    https://www.poetryfoundation.org/poems-and-poets/poems/detail/52341

  10. Oh my what a spectacular display of flowers Jane! Captured magically as always!

  11. Wow…the colours are so vivid!
    Very impressive!!

  12. So beautiful! Makes me want to be there.

  13. And this is splendid romp in the fields, Jane!

  14. Wonderful series Jane! I particularly like the first photo and it’s painterly quality.

  15. What a feast for the eyes, Jane! Don’t we live in an amazing part of the world!

  16. Beautiful captures, Jane! I really loved the caption for the post. I love walks like these. Thanks for taking me there. 🙂

  17. You are right, it’s been such an amazing blooming season here in Southern California, just as amazing as your images. My heart opens up when I see your photography, thank you for sharing. I had the most beautiful flowers blooming in my tiny flower bed.

    • Hi Cornelia, I’m glad that you’ve been enjoying them, too. It’s been such a surprise after the long drought. Your reaction to these images means a lot. Thanks very much and hope all is well with you.

  18. When I saw the title, I just knew I was going to love this post! Glorious!

  19. These were so beautiful! Loved the Pretty in Purple! Flowers are such fun to do with macro. I’m amazed at how you did the first one…. Magic 🙂

  20. Jane, these are gorgeous.
    I especially love the poppies. I don’t think I’ve ever seen so many in one place before.
    Have a wonderful weekend!

  21. Walking along such meadows would be wonderfully restful…

  22. Simply spectacular Jane. I would love to paint the first one 🙂

  23. ohhhhhhh! so lovely

  24. Stunningly beautiful collection of images, Jane!

  25. These are truly beautiful. Jane, thank you for sharing these.

  26. I love your sunlight centered wild flower displays…like old Dutch oil paintings and so gorgeous.

  27. Your flower portraits are very special, lovely colours and light. My favourite is Pretty in Purple, ( Blue Phacelia??) I just love the way you have captured the shape of the flower.

  28. What a refreshing start of the day you seem to have all my favorite things. In a color wildflower, you set the mood ambiance.Your words fit perfectly divine. I would love to sit and admire all of the beauty the smell of flowers that’s what I call nature. Bravo, you show the pictures so vibrant like an artist Deviant.

  29. What a great eye…as always!!! LOVE these…so happy…colors r so warm n fuzzy😜 makes me HAPPY!!

  30. Ooh lala – beautiful.. hard to pick a favorite… Happy flowers.. thank you

  31. The first one is cool with the backdrop Impressionism feel. The purple one stands out too. Orange is so unique & beautiful. . They are all eye candy. The butterflies & birds love em too. Been happily digging & planting in my beds all week & a hummingbird whizzed by! 🌷🦋

    • Hi Diane, It’s fun to try varying techniques and compositions. Wind is often a factor on the coast so I have to get creative. 🙂 Hope you are enjoying your nature moments and photographing them!

  32. Absolutely beautiful photos.

  33. Beautiful, Jane!! Makes me and my camera want to head out with you…….I LOVE flowers! Suzie

  34. “The earth laughs in flowers”…I love that. I especially liked Orange Burst and the layers of color.

  35. What a beautiful tribute to nature and her beautiful wildflowers. I especially liked Pretty in Purple.

  36. Splendid and positive…as so often. xx

  37. Beautiful macros and fields of flowers all round. Bravo. Not only vividly colourful but dreamy as well – like stalks and fields of dreams. Love the Emerson quote. Flowers can make the room all the more brighter on any rainy or sad day. Enjoy the remainder of spring and it looks like summer might be a treat for you 🙂

  38. Wow Jane! What a stunning and beautiful collection of wildflowers you show here. I love wildflowers and yours are perfect!

  39. Beautiful photos. You are really so good in this!

  40. You are so lucky to live in California and see these beautiful wildflowers. Thank you for sharing with us. Spectacular photos!

    • Hi Sunnydays, You live in a fabulous city, too! Happy you enjoyed a taste of what spring has been like this year in CA. I am enjoying learning about the wildflowers and hope to be better at identifying them soon. 🙂 Thanks very much.

  41. What a delicious collection of photographs. I just about felt like I was there. My favourite is pretty in purple.
    Alison

Love to hear what you think...

