Things I’ve Seen: Color and Light


Images made for my current class, “Learning To See”, at the San Francisco Art Institute. 

San Francisco, Photography, Color, Light, City,

Garage Window

 

“The art of photography is all about directing the attention of the viewer.”

~Steven Pinker

 

San Francisco, Photography, Color, Light, City,

Wired

 

San Francisco, Photography, Color, Light, City,

See You At The Movies

 

San Francisco, Photography, Color, Light, City,

825

 

“I am not interested in shooting new things – I am interested to see things new.”

~Ernst Haas

San Francisco, Photography, Color, Light, City,

Afternoon Shadows

 

San Francisco, Photography, Color, Light, City,

Loose Screws

 

“All the technique in the world doesn’t compensate for the inability to notice.”

~ Elliott Erwitt

San Francisco, Photography, Color, Light, City,

Wind Blown

 

San Francisco, Photography, Color, Light, City,

Stand Out

 

“Without reflection, we go blindly on our way, creating more unintended consequences, and failing to achieve anything useful.”

~Margaret J. Wheatley

 

 

 

Reflecting

Categories: Abstract, Architecture, City Scenes, Color My World, It's All In The Details, Lines and Shadows, Photography, Things I've Seen..., Weekly Photo ChallengeTags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

103 comments

  1. Stunning and beautiful compositions, Jane.

  2. You are certainly learning to see things in a way that is new and interesting. Several particularly stand out for me. 825 is a wonderful balance of shapes and colours. “See you at the movies is a unique look at theatre seats, I love the dark quiet feel, the anticipation in the photo.

    • Thank you, Maggie. I think it is important to continually challenge my way of seeing and those two images, in particular, were “aha” moments. Your thoughts are much appreciated. 🙂

  3. Beautifully captured! Am in awe!

  4. Wonderful!😀 Best regards from Jule and their Can openers.

  5. I remember having a similar assignment. Nice variety of lighting situations. There’s something melancholic about the silhouettes in the penultimate image.

  6. Color and light
    A few pictures
    With a lot of might 🙂

  7. You see more through your camera’s lens than what your eyes see without …
    Beautiful art pictures!
    Warm regards, Heidi

  8. Beautiful images, Jane. I love the close-ups of details and how you use shadow and light and patterns and structure to create captivating photos.

  9. You must be having a great time with the class – I hope to hear more about it. I like the first garage image and 825 very much – 825 for those delicious colors and the light – and also the green leaf for its pure “standingoutness.”

  10. Nice pics. Very interesting composition, textures and shadows. Congrats.

  11. I also like See You At the Movies, although it took me a while to realize what I was looking at.

    • Hi Lisa, It’s a bit tricky when your brain realizes what your eyes are seeing. I thought it was a bit humorous looking as though eyes were staring back. Thank very much for your thoughts. 😉

  12. Such a wonderful series, Jane, and great capture of shadows

  13. wow – this is beautiful, elegance set of magical colorful presentation!!

  14. An excellent set. The little detail on the back of the theater seats in “See You At The Movies” reminds me of the speakers at the old drive-in theaters. Sometimes, though, setting aside the camera can also help in learning how to see – at least I think so.

    Have a great week, Jane.

  15. Great shots Jane…really like the window shots and the 825. I’d have to say you’re seeing well…A+ 🙂

  16. That is brilliant. I love the structures and shapes.

  17. Wonderful details! My favorites are ‘Garage Window’ and Afternoon Shadows’. I’m sure it will be a great class!

  18. Just sayin’ Jane, this may be a class you could teach rather than attend 🙂 Loved the movies shot!

    • That’s so nice, Tina. Thanks. Each class has had an interesting mix of people which leads to good critiques. There’s always something new to learn! Color theory really had me thinking.

  19. just love these SO INTERESTING…..very thought provoking😜 love blowing in the wind…..

  20. All of these are wonderful, Jane (I’ve been scrolling up and down to try to pick a favorite!!).
    I think I like “At the Movies” most of all.
    Such a great perspective and I love the coppery color.
    Have a great weekend!

  21. Challenging and infinitely rewarding!

  22. Love your composition and subject matter….taking time to really see our world can be and is

  23. Amazing what we see when we start looking.

  24. Fabulous. Always pays to look around you.

  25. Interesting details in the shots. I especially love the shadows in Wired, Wind Blown and Afternoon Shadows. Have always enjoyed your work with shadows.

  26. I swear, Jane, you can make anything look good.

  27. Great images, Jayne – I enjoyed this post and your thoughts

  28. This demonstrates that you really do have a photographer’s eye Jane……good work!

  29. Great capture in side the movie theater. A scene that we may have all seen at a younger age but forgotten. As a result, the perspective really works. The shapes and repeating patterns are outstanding. I love your cropping of the image. Overall, outstanding!!!

  30. These are perfect examples Jane – great shots!

  31. Although I must certainly up my technique I am certainly in the technique vs not notice school

  32. Love the photos, Jane.

  33. Terrific post… love that solo leaf…

  34. Nice photos! These are some people neglect to pay attention to, but you didn’t.

    http://www.annalovelife.com

  35. You clearly have ‘the eye’ for it… wonderful collection photo’s once again!

  36. Love your selection of photos and the quotes.

  37. What an interesting class and opportunity! And…… what an adorable grandbaby! i look forward to seeing more of what your assignments are.
    Cheers!

  38. Jane, you are amazing as usual, love the quotes as well.

  39. Great composition. Love the Ernst Haas quote!

  40. Amazing images, Jane. I love your eye!

Love to hear what you think...

