Urban by Nature


City walks are nature walks, if you look. 

Photography, Monochrome, Black and White, Nature, Close-up

Vines and Leaves

“Out of clutter, find simplicity.” 

― Albert Einstein

Photography, Monochrome, Black and White, Nature, Close-up

Drained

 

Photography, Monochrome, Black and White, Nature, Close-up

Succulent and Rain

 

Photography, Nature, Close-up

Veins

 

Photography, Monochrome, Black and White, Nature, Close-up

Wallflower

 

Photography, Monochrome, Black and White, Nature, Close-up

Fence and Leaves

 

“The question is not what you look at but what you see.”
~ Henry David Thoreau

 

Photography, Monochrome, Black and White, Nature, Close-up

Framed

 

Photography, Monochrome, Black and White, Nature, Close-up

Calla Lily

 

Photography, Monochrome, Black and White, Nature, Close-up

Red Leaves

 

 

A Good Match

Categories: Black and White, Flowers, Plants and Trees, Macro, Nature, Photography, Weekly Photo ChallengeTags: , , , , , , , , ,

119 comments

  1. These are all beautiful. I’m really interested in the urban nature theme.

  2. Wow! What a great title and series! “Drained” makes me smile… Reminds me that you can find beauty in the most unexpected areas!

  3. I love this post, and your work is beautifully done. Little bits of nature in the city – easy to find once you look, but not always so easy to photograph.

  4. Simply stunning Jane, each and every one.

  5. A brilliant collection, Jane.

  6. Street magic with these wonderful shots Jane!

  7. I love that quote by Henry David Thoreau. How very true. Thanks for showing us what you see.

  8. Veins, Fences and Leaves are my fav’s. Excellent compositions. I wonder how Veins would look like in B&W. Beautiful series, Jane!

  9. These are lovely. I especially like “Fence and Leaves”.

  10. Yes, thanks! You too–I hope
    😎😎

  11. I love your minimalist vibe of your photos – especially those of the lines of the leaf. Well done as always. 🙂

  12. really stunning shots…loving ‘drained’…..great eye u have dear!!!

  13. A nice mix of B&W and color. When most think of “urban and gritty”, it seems the default perception is B&W. Nice you showed color is present in the urban landscape.

  14. Gorgeous shots, Jane! You have captured what many of us overlook.

  15. Wonderful examples of nature’s perseverance Jane, and a beautiful post. Looks like you tweaked your theme a bit too. I like the way the previous posts are now shown. These are among my favorite of your images which is saying something indeed!

  16. Love how much your eyes travel for details 🙂

  17. Truly breathtaking beauty, Jane!
    I especially love “Fences and Leaves.”
    Have a wonderful weekend.

  18. I really love this post. Well done!

  19. Simple elements of nature around but … so eye-catching.

  20. Wow, Jane! These are so inspiring! I love your choice of manmade and natural elements. These make for fabulous imagery. Very rich, detailed and thoughtful.

  21. These photos are great! I am just starting out in the world of photojournalism so I hope my pictures will be even half as good as yours (: keep on keeping on!

  22. Your first photo of the vines and leaves moved me to the front edge of my chair so that I could get a gooood look. Well done, Jane. Exposure, composition, everything is exactly where it should be. BTW, the Veins are a close second for me this week.
    Ω

    • You have made my day with your thoughtful reaction, Allan. I “saw” that image in monochrome and was really pleased with the contrasts. Thank you so much. Veins, well, an experiment that worked out… 😉 Appreciate you taking a moment to let me know.

  23. Beautiful Jane! There is beauty all around us as long as we stop to look. 😊

  24. I absolutely love these! Taking “neature” hikes around the city is something I look forward to when I move back home. Thanks for the inspiration!

  25. These images are to fall in love with. Such intense tones and depths. And such beautiful texture and patterns whether it’s black and white or colour. I really enjoy their richness and carefully rendered details.

  26. Hi Jane I got sidetracked for a few months but is back a blogging. It is obviously your time with Tarzan in the jungle which makes you aware of the jungle in the city

  27. Beautiful captures, Jane. I love the Einstein quote. 🙂

  28. What a lovely post. Will try to put the Thoreau quote into practice.

  29. for fear of repeating myself: your ‘eye’ for a shot and ability to process your photos to perfection, is legendary. xx

  30. Simply love this series, Jane! Fine Art 👏👏👏!

  31. I love this truly emotional series.
    I have the strange feeling that we, the human race, are a kind of virus that destroys Nature, for which there is no known cure or vaccine.

  32. Superb images. And you’ve shown how everyone can enjoy nature wherever they are.

  33. I prefer nature walks in nature, but it is good to have an eye for nature in the city too, which you clearly have! Beautiful photo’s!

  34. Beautiful as always Jane. Looking for the extraordinary in the ordinary is a key theme of mine too.

  35. Lovely stuff. Your cropping of the pictures (I’m assuming you’ve done some cropping?) adds a lot to them as well. Well done

  36. Oh wow! I loved all of them 🙂

  37. I scrolled through your images and enjoyed ’em all. Then I returned for a second look and thought how many people with a camera dangling around their neck would just walk by.

  38. love the calla lily! Great lines?

    • Hi Mary Lynn, I’m so glad– thank you! I was experimenting with holding the camera underneath the petals into the sun. Must try some more since they are blooming now. Very nice to hear from you and I hope all is well with you!

  39. Very nice! Especially love the B&W’s

  40. Excellent point. Your wonderful shots certainly reflect it!

  41. Wow, Jane, just stunning. I have to admit that my favourite is “drain.” Almost took my breath away!

  42. Great eye, Jane! Love the calla lily!

    • Hi Jack, Glad you like this series, especially the Calla Lily– I was experimenting with some backlighting holding my phone below the flower. I’ve had fun the past few days in between rain showers. Thanks very much and hope all is well on the island.

  43. I so enjoy your photos, Jane. I love what you see! I’m esp. enamored with ‘Fence and Leaves.’ 🙂

  44. beautiful lines…all leading to spring…lovely Jane 🙂 smiles hedy

  45. What a beautiful series of photo compositions! I love how you have used them to answer the Daily Post Challenge: they indeed are good matches!

Love to hear what you think...

