Guest Post – Jane Lurie – Morning Catch, Baker Beach


I am excited to be the newest guest contributor to Monochromia, a terrific website for black and white photography. A great group of photographers. I hope you enjoy my debut post.

Monochromia

Please welcome our newest Guest Contributor Jane Lurie.  Thank you for joining our “little club” and I look forward to your future posts.

morning-catch-baker-beach-jane_lurie

“Photography helps people to see”. This quote by Berenice Abbott has always been a favorite. The ability to see and capture a moment in time is the true pleasure, for me, of photography.

My name is Jane Lurie. I grew up in New Jersey and worked in the education field for my career. I moved to South Carolina outside of Charleston for fifteen years before moving to San Francisco a few years ago.

I still remember the thrill of getting my first SLR camera, a Minolta, in high school. When I started taking darkroom classes I discovered the power of black and white photography. I revered Ansel Adams and his landscapes.

Digital cameras and blogging provided new avenues for me and I’m inspired by the connections and creative…

View original post 68 more words

Categories: Photography

61 comments

  1. Ooh… so very proud of you and NOT surprised!!,

  2. Beautiful shot!! Looking forward to seeing more of your work!

  3. Beautiful image! Baker Beach was my first stop when I visited SF – an amazing spot where you could spend hours and hours and hours

  4. Super photo!!!
    Warm greetings from Warsaw.
    Happy weekend.

  5. This is great Jane, and the image is wonderful it really suits.

  6. Beautiful B&W of the GGB.

    I’ve followed Monochromia, on and off, for the past couple of years. I’ll probably have to follow it more closely since now you’re contributor there. 🙂

  7. Congratulations! This is a wonderful image with a lot happening … the fog, sailboat fisherman and splash … great timing!

    • Hi Denise, Thanks so much! Coming upon this scene was one of those magical photography moments — that you know so well — and within minutes the fisherman packed up and left. Phew. Happy you enjoyed this one.

  8. Congratulations Jane, very well earned too. I have been following that site for about a year now and there are so many great photographers there. And as always, your love for this bridge always come out great!

  9. Another nice honor Jane. Your photography is very inspiring!

  10. Congrats, Jane! I know this is a great group for you and they are very lucky to have you as a contributor! Fantastic shot!

  11. Congratulations, Jane. You really deserve it.

  12. Congratulations Jane. I’m sure your beautiful photography will be a favourite on Monochromia. 👏

  13. Congratulations Jane!

  14. Congratulations on being invited into “The Club”! It’s great that others are starting to see what a great eye you have for amazing shot! Have fun!

  15. congrats!!! u will be a great asset to their team with that keen eye of yours!!! Just loving your first post….gives me a cozy feeling!!! HUG

  16. Hello Jane, Congratulations on this new challenge. About this photo I like the close-up.
    Regards.

  17. Good job, Jane. Well deserved.

  18. Love your Jane Noir photos.

  19. Congratulations on being a contributor to Monochromia, Jane. I’ve always loved the perspective of this photo.

  20. Congrats, Jane. Well done and lovely introduction there. I agree with the quote. Photography not only helps us see what’s happening, but helps us see what is and the different stories going on around us at once. Looking forward to seeing more BW from you and your shots of SF 🙂

  21. This photo proves why you have been rewarded, it is so stunning.

  22. Congratulations, once again, dear Jane! I’m not surprised at all, seeing you being promoted for your excellent photography. It’s well deserved!
    Best wishes,
    Hanne x

  23. Congrats… so well deserved! This photo is a perfect example of your high quality. And I couldn’t agree more with the quote!

  24. congrats – going to read the rest of the post now

  25. Congratulations for joining Monochromia, Jane, this is well deserved! And a superb post to start with. Fondly remember my trip down to Baker Beach last time I was in SFO. Hope you had a great Valentine! Have a good evening 😉 Marcus

Love to hear what you think...

