Things I’ve Seen: The Magic of Light


โ€œWherever there is light, one can photograph.โ€

~ Alfred Stieglitzย 

Light, Landscape, Photography, California, San Francisco, Jane Lurie

Super Moon and Bay Bridge

 

Light, Landscape, Photography, California, San Francisco, Jane Lurie

Autumn Vineyard Reflection, Sonoma

 

Light, Landscape, Photography, California, San Francisco, Jane Lurie, Black and White, Monochrome

Morning Paper, Fort Point

 

“Light makes photography. Embrace light. Admire it. Love it. But above all, know light. Know it for all you are worth, and you will know the key to photography.”

~George Eastman

Light, Landscape, Photography, California, San Francisco, Jane Lurie

When The Moon Hits Your Eye…

 

 

Light, Landscape, Photography, California, San Francisco, Jane Lurie

Maple Leaf and Vineyard

 

Light, Landscape, Photography, California, San Francisco, Jane Lurie

Surfer, San Francisco

 

Light, Landscape, Photography, California, San Francisco, Jane Lurie

One Grape Leaf

 

Light, Landscape, Photography, California, San Francisco, Jane Lurie

Sunset Clouds

 

Photography to me is catching a moment which is passing, and which is true.

~Jacques-Henri Lartigue

I am honored that this post was featured by WordPress on Discover.

discover-badge-circle

Magic

 

 

Categories: Flowers, Plants and Trees, Landscapes, Nature, Night Photography, Photography, Things I've Seen..., Travel, Weekly Photo ChallengeTags: , , , , , , , ,

315 comments

  1. It is like a miracle to have the super moon behind the golden gate bridge! So exciting!๐Ÿ™‚

    • Hi Robin– It was truly amazing. This evening, it is rising behind the Bay Bridge which now has a permanent light installation on it which really enhances the photos. It was very cool. Thank you! ๐Ÿ˜ƒ

      • The permanent light installation is serendipitous for your lighting but the talent still lies in your artistic eye.๐Ÿ™‚ The Bay Bridge is what I should have called it! I have 3 little grandies over which means only half of the details of the bridge’s location and other things “sank in.”

  2. Spectacular. I do not know what to sayโค

  3. Wholeheartedly agree! Beautiful images.

  4. Your image of the moon moves me. I am a bit obsessed with the moon myself and it’s a constant theme in a lot of my writing. You have captured such beautiful moments in time.

  5. Wow! Thank you for sharing. I’m glad, I found your post.

  6. beautiful! the moon picture is a classic !

  7. If this picture shows us the beauty of the scene this clear, then to be there in person had to be jaw dropping. .It seems as if the moon was showing off for you. This photo took my breath away… Thank you for sharing

    • Hello SW, My hope is to convey as closely as possible, the scene that I am feeling and seeing. To me, that’s a successful image. I’m so glad you felt the emotion I did making these. Thanks so much for letting me know.

  8. Stunning photos. Today we don’t even need light to be able to photograph – almost that is. Congratulations with another WordPress Discover.

  9. Wow lovely post. Do you can say me where you shoot Super Moon.

  10. Sunset clouds…stunning….often my favourite moments in time xx

  11. You capture such an amazing pictures.

  12. Really nice pictures…. great work!!๐Ÿ˜Š

  13. It’s a magical world out there, for sure! Your captures of the moon are wonderful, Jane, but that sunset has me dreaming. Well deserved attention. ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

  14. Love your pictures just fascinate me. Thank’s

  15. Beautiful photos๐Ÿ™‚

  16. WOW. Absolutely stunning photographs. I’m such a sucker for the moon. Thanks for sharing such a beauty.

    ~LunaSoleil
    http://www.novalune.space/blog

  17. Wow – great Pics! Really Amazing!

  18. that supermoon over the bridge is simply stunning!

  19. These pictures are amazing! The picture depicting morning paper, my personal favourite ๐Ÿ™‚

  20. Beautiful pictures Jane…Truly incredible

  21. Such beautiful pictures. The autumn vineyard picture is my fav.๐Ÿ™‚

  22. Amazing pictures!
    Really enjoyed this!๐Ÿ˜Š

  23. These photo’s are outstanding i cant stop looking at them !

    https://wonderlifeworld.wordpress.com/

  24. Super pretty pictures of the moon behind the Bay Bridge. San Francisco is such a mysterious and beautiful city. Great to see it captured so lovingly.

  25. Love the picture of the moon. Staring at the moon will never get boring. Just imagining how far away it is and the fact we can still see it is so fascinating. Great picture! X

  26. There is no reason why you should thank me, we should thank you for providing us with such beauty in a photo.

  27. Wow, my breath was taken away.๐Ÿ™‚ keep up the good work and if you can, spread the word about my blog fairytailovers.wordpress.com. Thanks.

  28. BREATHTAKING would be an understatement.

  29. I love it!!! quite intriguing I must say

  30. That is for sure some of best pictures ive seen thank you.

  31. Magic…..seriously. I have such deep admiration for photographers. It truly is a keen art.

  32. Hello Jane, awesome photography.
    But I there any way to download hd photograph of supermoon , actually we need to exhibit it in science Congress. (With due regards & no copyright violations)

  33. All of them are beautiful but that moon is just magnificent.

  34. This reminds me of the wonderful artist Turner and his absolute love affair with light. I would recommend the movie “Turner” as a good introduction to the painter.

    • Hi Don, Now that’s a wonderful compliment, thank you! Yes, I have seen the movie and recently a terrific Turner retrospective at the DeYoung in SF. He was a master of light. I appreciate your thoughtful comment.

  35. Nice picture

  36. Another beautiful set, especially the sunset over the bay.
    Have a good holiday weekend.๐Ÿ™‚

  37. Amazing… God created all with love.. God love art.. God love peace.. God is the best creator….we keep it..

  38. Amazing… God created all.. very great.. God love arts..God love peace… we keep it… all

  39. This just awesome๐Ÿ™‚ Great work!!!

  40. I loved all images they are awesome. But super moon is fantastic.

  41. God said He made light on the first day, and that it was ‘good’. It took me few years to realize that it’s more than ‘just good’. It’s marvellous and stunning. I too, collect light images and I really appreciate your eye for light. I will look forward to seeing more.

  42. Hey,
    I loved all the photographs especially the moon one ๐Ÿ˜

  43. You have an incredible talent for seeing things others do not. Thanks for sharing…can’t wait to see more!

  44. aww.. Beautiful effects. i really miss my photography class in high school. Nice Shots

  45. Outstanding photographs. The composition was great, I loved them all.

  46. Wow! The Sonoma Valley picture is stunning! Heading off to look at your post on the place.

  47. Beautiful! Great eye to capture the moon and it’s grandeur (Super moon!) thank you for sharing an awesome serene moment in time.

  48. That bridge, the moon and those leafs. Great job done, nice snaps!๐Ÿ™‚

  49. So exciting photography :O
    um speechless!

  50. Amazing photos! Thanks for sharing๐Ÿ™‚

  51. I adore the vineyard picture. Looks to be paradise.

  52. Your photographs are amazing. Definitely going to follow you๐Ÿ™‚

  53. Amazing photos, I particularly like the sunset.

  54. Amazing photography, really like these

  55. Beautiful work! I love the light hitting the bridge!

  56. Stunning aperture and colors!! Your gray scale gradient is beautiful as well

  57. What creative super moon shots! And I love the love you have put into those single leaves.

  58. Cool shot of the moon. I never tire looking at it.

  59. Reblogged this on CELONA'S BLOG and commented:
    I just had to share this one..
    Great work๐Ÿ˜‰

  60. Reblogged this on KAYCEE CHUKWU and commented:
    Powerful shots๐Ÿ˜‰

  61. I have just been blinded by all this beauty . wonderful and truly amazing.โค

  62. I have just been blinded by all this beauty . Truely amazing and wonderful .โค

  63. Ooh! You caught the super-moon! Luckily I saw it rise but did not have a camera handy. Loving the way you captured the autumnal vine leaf as well. These shots truly capture the season where you live.

  64. Beautiful captures, Jane! The moon looks haunting.๐Ÿ™‚

  65. Magical photos indeed, Jane. Your. MoonI photo is superb!!

  66. All wonderful, Jane. the moon of course…and that Sonoma sombre. Wonderful magic.

  67. Gorgeous photos, as always, Jane and the first one is a show-stopper.
    ฮฉ

  68. Totally magical – and although the moon looks fab my favourite is the vine leaf. Such lovely light and colour there.

  69. Just beautiful, Jane, especially the photographs of the moon.

  70. Yes it’s all about catching the light…beautiful ones and I love the moon ~ smiles for a happy day Hedy โ˜บ๏ธ

  71. I should be allowed to like each photos in WordPress๐Ÿ™‚. I love ALL of them. Fantastic!!!

  72. Hi, Jane. This is wonderful light “magic.” Gorgeous shots! I especially love the super moon shot.

  73. It’s all about the light and what we do with it…

  74. What a lovely cross section photos reflecting the magic of light… yet another of your favorite bridge!!

  75. Stunning, every one of those shots. You were lucky to get the moon…here in Devon, UK we didn’t.

  76. One (beautifully lit) grape leaf..my favorite.

  77. Pure magic. We missed the Supermoon due to cloud cover ๐Ÿ˜ก

  78. These are all amazing, Jane! You are so masterful with the light, bringing out the very best in what your eye sees and what your camera captures.

  79. A lovely selection of images, Jane….the Supermoon and the bridge is just stunning!

  80. Well done on the supermoon, Jane. So sharp, briliantly shot. Luck was on your side too – a clear sky over the bridge. It sort of looks like a big round cheese in the sky, or a round vanilla frosted cake๐Ÿ˜€ Love the collection of quotes too. Agree with the last one. Photography certainly is about moments, and so many of these moments are once in a lifetime. With each shot that we take, we are capturing a passing moment, a part of history๐Ÿ™‚

  81. Strong words, great images! I love the one of moon and the bridge, as if the moon is playing a harp… While the one of the leaf means (to me) even if you are lonely you can hold to someone, something…

  82. …That’s a’more ..
    Uh oh can’t get that song outta my head now….
    Wasnt shooting the moon a blast?! Ran into a crowd of lunatics toting tripods & wine accompaniments on the beach that night.
    My moons were duds. Thanks for capturing & sharing your lovely ones Jane๐ŸŒ• ds

  83. These are absolutely beautiful!

  84. Lots of magic here – great series, Jane!

  85. That first photo is absolutely stunning! They are all lovely~

  86. …like a pizza pie. You have the magic touch, gorgeous captures Jane. ๐Ÿ™‚

  87. Autumn Vineyard is just incredible, and of course anything with that bridge. Supermoon was fabulous.

  88. fascinating…elegant – paradise…

  89. Beautiful Jane – the bridge made a wonderful frame for your moon shot! Love the little leaf๐Ÿ™‚

  90. just incredible shots….is that moon real????๐Ÿ˜œ Gary is convinced that the surfer is Bob๐Ÿ˜˜

    • Hi April, It is amazingly real and frankly, I was so sure I hadn’t gotten any keepers…was shooting away madly, hoping…hard to get the exposure. That surfer is Bob! How did you guess?๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks so much, GF!

  91. Hi Jane, great pictures my favorite is the 3 and fifths

  92. Love those moon through the bridge photos, great sense of scale! Greetings, Ron

  93. Good inspirational quotes and all great images but I love the Super Moon and the Bay Bridge. Well done.

Love to hear what you think...

