San Francisco Textures


In the words of Monty Python,

“And now for something completely different.”

 

 

When I am looking for a new creative outlet, Topaz Texture Effects is a useful program for post-processing images. It’s fun to work through an image and with quite a bit of trial and error, arrive at a result that is appealing. 

 

 

 

 

San Francisco, California, Topaz Texture Effects, Architecture, Photography

Golden Gate Reflection

 

 

 

“Learn the rules like a pro, so you can break them like an artist.”

~ Pablo Picasso

 

 

 

San Francisco, California, Topaz Texture Effects, Architecture, Photography

Runner and Wave, Golden Gate Bridge

 

 

San Francisco, California, Topaz Texture Effects, Architecture, Photography

Transamerica

 

 

 

“Creativity takes courage” ~ Henri Matisse

 

 

 

San Francisco, California, Topaz Texture Effects, Architecture, Photography

Transamerica Blue

 

 

San Francisco, California, Topaz Texture Effects, Architecture, Photography

Morning, Palace of Fine Arts

 

 

 

“Imagination is everything. It is the preview of life’s coming attractions.”  

~ Albert Einstein

 

 

 

 

Oops

 

 

Categories: Architecture, City Scenes, Photography, Street Photography, Travel, Weekly Photo ChallengeTags: , , , , , , , , ,

62 comments

  1. Wonderful images and I love the textures!

  2. Great shots Jane, particularly like Transamerice Blue – works really well having skyscrapers in landscape!

  3. I like your compositions Jane!

  4. These show what one can do without as someone said overcooking 🙂 having said that it IS nice to experiment and I should like to be a little more creative again with them like this Jane . It’s nice not to be pigeonholed and our blogs give us the chance to push the limits and that I like 🙂
    I think my favourite along with others is the runner with her little pony tail a go go 🙂

  5. Great shots, Jane. I love the grainy effect on ‘Runner and Wave’! Makes it look like an image shot on film 🙂 Also, the timing is spot on. The composition is perfect.

  6. nicely done and the second last image is my favorite 🙂

  7. Love the Palace Of Fine Arts Image, it is so engaging.

  8. I have no idea why you would post this for an “oops” challenge. These are wonderful photos. Am I missing some deep “oops” thing here? I’d love to have “oops” photos like this.

    janet

    • Hi Janet– Ha- you are sweet. My oops was that there’s a lot of oops that goes on when trying all the different options with these programs. I’m very happy that you feel the final results lacked “oops”! Thanks so much and I’m glad you liked these. I haven’t said oops this much in years! 🙂

  9. Another big fan of the runner, the wave and the bridge! All great shots Jane and fabulous quotes!

  10. Beautifully compiled post, Jane …

    Some stunning images and great quotes 🙂

    Thank you so much for sharing and have a beautiful day 🙂

  11. I like that effect. The changes are subtle and soften the images a bit. Very interesting.

  12. I haven’t tried Topaz, yet. Your photos looks amazing! No “ooops” visable anymore 🙂 I hope you had a great weekend!

  13. Love the quotes sprinkled in between each picture – I think the pictures are amazing; so much more to see (and imagine) with a textured result.

    The museum reminded me of a place I captured a few years ago in Cincy down by the river – the two structures IIRC looked very much the same. Tried to find this in my online collection and couldn’t. Looking forward to your next post.

    • HI John, I’m happy you liked the quotes– I love searching for just the right ones. Interesting that there’s a museum reminiscent of the Palace of Fine Arts. Thanks so much for your nice comment and visit.

  14. Haven’t tried Topaz yet but I really like what you did with these.

  15. These are superb Jane – I am not usually a fan of ‘effects’ filters but I do like these, they have come out so well. The runner is great – just how I imagine San Francisco is 🙂

  16. Love the Running and Wave image. Beautifully done, like a painting. I love how the sea spray is just right in front of the girl as she is running by. Great timing and sort of a bit of a dramatic corner of the image there 😀

  17. Love that Golden Gate reflection…. How many pics have you taken of that girl???

    • Hi Linda, Thank you so much. Isn’t it nice that my muse never tires of posing for me? I can’t imagine how many I’ve shot over the past decade or so! Your thoughts are much appreciate, as always.

  18. absolutely FANTASTIC shots….’runner & wave’ just jumped off the screen…also transamerica blue mind blowing!!! love seeing through your lens…thanks for sharing!!

  19. I love the TA Blue and Einstein quote. Topaz is new to me, thanks for the intro.
    Ω

  20. Interesting group of Topaz Effects…I have Topaz, but have not yet tried the textures…I do like the effect on the B&W image the best.

  21. Beautiful set of SF.

    So you wouldn’t be concerned, I made my Transamerica Insurance payment today. The tower will remain open until next month’s premium payment. 🙂

  22. Wonderful textures, Jane. The runner with wave behind her was a perfect moment shot!

  23. Yea…lovely effect you created and not overcooked, that is the secret!! Wonderful point of view you found/know.

    • Hi Paula- Thank you and couldn’t agree more- and this is about as cooked as it gets for me. I often use it to add mild texture to a bland sky. Fun to try the more graphic effects. Glad you enjoyed these.

  24. AHA, textures!!! Welcome aboard :-). Nicely done Jane – love Transamerica two ways!

  25. Great Picasso quote…Einstein always delights…enjoyed your interpretation of the museum.

Love to hear what you think...

