Bay Bridge, Blood Moon


Pier 7 on the Embarcadero was filled with people this past Sunday night. A blend of San Francisco photographers with their tripods, locals with their kids enjoying the scene and tourists hoping to get a shot of the historic Super Blood Moon. 

We had hope. I chatted with a photographer and using our app, The Photographer’s Ephemeris, calculated where the Super Moon would rise over the Bay Bridge. Over time, it was apparent that the rising Super Moon was obscured by the clouds. I kept busy shooting the scenes of the bay as the boats cruised by and the sun set. 

Finally, the Blood Moon peeked over the wall of clouds giving us a beautiful moment of the lunar eclipse.

 

 

 

Landscape, Night Photography, San Francisco, California, Nikon, Bridge, Astronomy, Moon,

Sunset Clouds and Bay Bridge

 

 

 

 

Landscape, Night Photography, San Francisco, California, Nikon, Bridge, Black and White, Astronomy, Moon,

Sailboat Crossing

 

 

 

 

 

Landscape, Night Photography, San Francisco, California, Nikon, Bridge, Astronomy, Moon,

San Francisco Hornblower

 

 

 

 

 

Landscape, Night Photography, San Francisco, California, Nikon, Bridge, Astronomy, Moon,

Bay Bridge Lights

 

 

 

 

 

Landscape, Night Photography, San Francisco, California, Nikon, Bridge, Astronomy, Moon,

Blood Moon Over Clouds

 

 

 

 

Landscape, Night Photography, San Francisco, California, Nikon, Bridge, Astronomy, Moon,

Bay Bridge and Blood Moon

 

 

 

 

Landscape, Night Photography, San Francisco, California, Nikon, Bridge, Astronomy, Moon,

Bay Bridge and Blood Moon II

 

 

 

 

 

 

Change

Categories: City Scenes, Landscapes, Night Photography, Photography, Weekly Photo ChallengeTags: , , , , , , , , , ,

53 comments

  1. The last one is just stunning.
    I’ve just had the absolute pleasure of wandering through your last half-dozen posts and they are all thought-provoking, startling and/or just plain beautiful.

  2. Wow, that’s incredible! Great photos, nice range of style with the shared “theme” of the bridge. Did you get any close-ups of the blood moon? I missed the sighting, unfortunately.

    • Hi Shem, I just noticed that I missed your nice comment and wanted to thank you. Sadly, I didn’t get any close-ups that night. I appreciate your visit here and sorry for the very belated reply. 😁

  3. Beautiful photoset – we had the blood moon here in the UK, but it arrived about 3am – and I was asleep 😦

  4. Brilliant shots Jane and so sorry I missed the view. But then I know I would never have gotten these spectacular shots, leave it to the experts!

  5. Nice shots, Jane. I like the fourth one from top. It’s unique and interesting.

  6. I enjoyed your super moon photos! If possible it was even more clouds here.. 🙂

  7. Well worth the wait; congrats 🙂

  8. An excellent set. We had a thin veil of high cirrus cloud passing through, but managed to get a few shots. Good thing you had a clearing sky and no fog bank – at least you don’t have to wait until 2033. 🙂

  9. Fab fotos,,, Jane,,,, wish I had the opportunity to shoot this event in San Fran….

    The Photographer’s Ephemeris showed the eclipse to be going on right above my home in Ohio….. but for myself and the skunk who was walking thorough my woods,,,,, all we could see were clouds… !!!!!! Keep up the good work…..pamela

  10. Still great shots! I was on the bridge over here and got more of the eclipse but not blood color due to clouds.

  11. Really FABULOUS shots….quite breathtaking!! Thank U as I slept through it!!

  12. Lucky you to see it we missed out down under.. Thanks for sharing it.

  13. Wonderful light and wonderful lights 🙂

  14. So glad you got it in such a stunning setting to give it real meaning.

  15. Indeed… This is very nice, you could catch the moon..

  16. Beautiful set, glad the clouds parted!

  17. You definitely made the most of the bridge time Jane! I did the same w TPE and waited patiently. Unfortunately we got nothing–the clouds ruled the evening. So glad your patience, unlike mine, paid off in the end! Beautiful captures.

  18. Beautiful. I use the Photographer’s Ephemeris all the time. Best app I ever purchased.

  19. So great moons these days, I like them all. Great with the bridge and the light!

  20. Your photos make me fall in love with our beautiful city all over again!

  21. So glad you were there to catch it!

Love to hear what you think...

