City Grids, San Francisco


 

 

I love heavy metal. Not the music, but the real stuff that I see in San Francisco every day. Girders, wires, fences and gates – the grids, designs, shadows and contrasts are there to be found.  

 

 

 

 

 

Abstract,San Francisco, California, City, Urban, Grids, Metal, Landscape

City Hall Wedding, San Francisco

 

 

 

Abstract,San Francisco, California, City, Urban, Grids, Metal, Landscape

Birds over Wires, SF

 

 

Abstract,San Francisco, California, City, Urban, Grids, Metal, Landscape

Garage Gate and Shadows, Russian Hill

 

 

 

Abstract,San Francisco, California, City, Urban, Grids, Metal, Landscape

Front Door Gate, Russian Hill

 

 

 

Abstract,San Francisco, California, City, Urban, Grids, Metal, Landscape

Love and The Fonz, Clarion Alley

 

 

Abstract,San Francisco, California, City, Urban, Grids, Metal, Landscape

Fence and Warehouse, Embarcadero

 

 

 

 

Abstract,San Francisco, California, City, Urban, Grids, Metal, Landscape

Warehouse Lights and Fence

 

 

 

Abstract,San Francisco, California, City, Urban, Grids, Metal, Landscape

Golden Gate Fence and City

 

 

 

 

Abstract,San Francisco, California, City, Urban, Grids, Metal, Landscape

Golden Gate Girders

 

 

 

 

I’d like to thank Ben Huberman from WordPress for selecting my image, “Bridge Patterns” for last week’s “Photos We Loved”. I appreciate being included with such a terrific group of photographers. 

 

 

 

 

 

Grid

Categories: Abstract, Architecture, Black and White, City Scenes, Landscapes, Photography, Street Photography, Weekly Photo ChallengeTags: , , , , , , , , , ,

73 comments

  1. With you on the metal love Jane, and well done on being showcased! Have to tell you, one of the best weddings ever was the one we went to at City Hall SF – still get a lump in my throat when I think about it.

  2. No barriers to our eyes . These are great shots Jane ! I’d love to see that Golden gate myself sometime .

  3. I generally have a favorite in your sets, but this time. they all sang to me. Love “heavy metal” as your subject.
    Thought of you just now–in Sunday’s NYT there was an article about Steve Martin curating a show at the Hammer Museum in LA–the works of Lawren Harris, of Canada’s “Group of Seven.” I know you checked out his work after I mentioned him in a post–so now we are two of an elite (hehehe) group who can say “Ah, yes–but I’ve been a fan for years.” 🙂

  4. Great shots, Jane! I also love the first one for its beautiful composition.

  5. Beautiful series, and that first one I simply can’t get over. Stunning and the framing of it would keep my eyes busy for hours. A great shot Jane.

  6. Nice group(ing) of images!

  7. Great gallery, Jane, and congratulations on having your photo picked.

    janet

  8. Golden Gate Girders is gorgeous! You have given a lot of warmth to what would usually be done in colder tones.

  9. I always enjoy a visit to your blog to view your outstanding photography Jane! I love all of these images as they are thought provoking. Each one makes me pause to study it and take in all the details. The very first image of the wedding really has a lot of emotion. You captured the moment in time brilliantly.

    Congratulations on being selected for the Photos We Loved! It’s a truly deserved honor!

  10. I pretty powerful and interesting post.

  11. These are fantastic!! I really love that golden gate perspective Jane! And the wedding at city hall is just fabulous.

  12. There’s something about the curves of the metal against the graffiti that I like. I also like the shapes and color of the front door gate.

  13. Heavy metal never looked so good! And congrats on your inclusion in Ben’s group!

  14. Great choices Jane – the first is really special IMHO!

  15. I really like the City Hall silhouette.
    Ω

  16. Jane, I add my voice to the chorus. and well done winning the competition, fully deserved.

  17. Thank you for sharing your great eye for detail that I just blow past!

  18. Intriguing post, Jane, all of it lovely. Of course my favorite is the last one. Can’t get enough of that beautiful bridge.

  19. Lovely set of shots for the photo challenge, Jane. My favourite would have to be the close up shot of the warehouse fence and lights. That was well composed and lovely you captured the light shining through the holes – brilliant bokeh. I think you make all these wires and metals look so natural, a natural part of our world and not the least bit scary at all 🙂

    • Hi Mabel- It’s very nice that you share your thoughts and I’m please that image caught your eye. It’s satisfying when an image turns out how you imagine when you see a scene. Thanks very much for your kind comments.

  20. More fabulous patterns – I love them 😄

  21. Particularly like the first one and the last one Jane!

  22. Just love these ….. Especially the front door gate….great shots!!!funny we see so many everyday all around us but never take note…. Thank u for pointing them out!!😜

  23. I love just about any picture of the Golden Gate Bridge. I’ve only been across it a couple of times, maybe only once. It’s been so long ago. But you got the idea with a lot of great grid shots. It’s amazing how many grids there are around us. All we have to do is look for them.

    If you like, you’re welcome to come visit my challenge at:
    https://fstopfantasy.wordpress.com/2015/09/19/weekly-photo-challenge-grid-crossed-wires/

  24. All very nice but I especially like the first one with the subtle silhouettes!
    And what an honor to be chosen for ‘Photo’s we loved’… very justified. Congrats!

  25. Yup the Golden Gate pic steals the show. Such lustrous colours. I enjoyed the whole collection though. Nice job and a follow as well 🙂

  26. Fascinating views from the perspective of grids – like the series a lot. The one of the Golden Gate is perfect!

  27. The GG Girder photo…must be made into a print!!!

  28. I think you are NOW the winner of the First Prize for this challenge. Definitely much more interesting than my Petaluma Photo Grid 🙂 Great work!!!

  29. All are lovely! I cannot decide which is best 🙂

  30. The first one is truly “awesome”.

Love to hear what you think...

