City and Clouds


 

 

 

Last Friday in San Francisco, the day started with the most amazing cloud patterns filling the sky. It stopped me in my tracks as I left for my morning run inspiring me to shoot an image to post on my Instagram feed.

Later in the day, fortunately, the clouds were still gorgeous. As I walked my neighborhood, I started to visualize the city scenes around me in black and white. Seeing the interplay of the graphic elements – the overhead wires criss-crossing the streets, the buildings and the trees with the backdrop of the clouds above.  

I had a great time studying the contrasting textures, lines and angles and appreciating the details of the city and sky in monochrome. 

 

 

 

 

 

Monochrome, Black and White, Urbn, Clouds, San Francisco, City, Graphic, Nature,

Clouds over Greenwich

 

 

 

“I work from awkwardness. By that I mean I don’t like to arrange things. If I stand in front of something, instead of arranging it, I arrange myself.”

~ Diane Arbus

 

 

 

Monochrome, Black and White, Urbn, Clouds, San Francisco, City, Graphic, Nature,

Birds over Wires, SF

 

 

 

 

 

Monochrome, Black and White, Urbn, Clouds, San Francisco, City, Graphic, Nature,

Lines and Clouds

 

 

“To acquire knowledge, one must study;

but to acquire wisdom, one must observe.” 

― Marilyn Vos Savant

 

 

 

 

Monochrome, Black and White, Urbn, Clouds, San Francisco, City, Graphic, Nature,

Union and Larkin, SF

 

 

 

Monochrome, Black and White, Urbn, Clouds, San Francisco, City, Graphic, Nature,

Vertical

 

 

 

 

Monochrome, Black and White, Urbn, Clouds, San Francisco, City, Graphic, Nature,

Flying

 

 

 

 

“The whole point of taking pictures is so that you don’t have to explain things with words.”

~Elliot Erwitt

 

 

 

Monochrome, Black and White, Urbn, Clouds, San Francisco, City, Graphic, Nature,

Lines and Clouds II

 

 

 

 

Monochrome, Black and White, Urbn, Clouds, San Francisco, City, Graphic, Nature,

Palm Tree

 

 

 

 

 

The images in this series were shot with my IPhone 5S and processed with Nik Silver Efex Pro 2.

 

 

 

 

Monochrome

 

Categories: Abstract, Architecture, Black and White, City Scenes, Lines and Shadows, Photography, Street Photography, Weekly Photo ChallengeTags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

73 comments

  1. Beautiful skyscapes Jane and what a punch that Diane Arbus quote packs!

  2. Excellent set.

    It it not lost on me. I’ve said it so many times that clouds can really make a difference in a landscape shot, even an urban landscape. I have some pictures that are the result of me going back to a place to reshoot just because the sky wasn’t right.

    • Hi Allan, Was just going through my 2015 posts and I am sorry I missed your terrific comment. I am sure I read it at the time but didn’t respond. I completely agree about clouds adding interest!

  3. Clouds…they can be so mesmerizing, they make such great photographic material. Love these!

  4. The sky has never looked so beautiful, Jane. Excellent shots.

  5. Excellent capturing of these clouds!

  6. Gorgeous! I saw Clouds over Greenwich on your Instagram in colour but the B&W version is so striking! Also really loved Birds over Wires.

  7. These work beautifully in b&w, Jane

  8. How fortunate for all of us that you looked up at the clouds! Gorgeous shots, Jane. Congratulations too on your work being singled out on WP.

  9. You are truly an artist Jane, who can see beauty in a scene that most people would try to avoid photographing. You have created some memorable compositions.

  10. The first shot is particularly striking Jane, because of the angle/composition and the light reflecting off the building

  11. Jane, I really like that first one for not only the beautiful pattern of the clouds, but for the POV and the building looming up. In black and white, it could be one of those old lunatic asylums in horror movies. 🙂

    janet

  12. Very much enjoying the straight linearity of the wires juxtaposed below the ephemeral textured clouds!

  13. A magical gallery Jane with beautiful thoughts. City and and clouds are perfect.

  14. Did I see the first shot on Instagram in color? It’s beautiful either way – the clouds are striking.

  15. Fantastic series of cloud captures and lovely processing. And you always pair them with the best quotes!

  16. Jane, these are lovely shots. I love the geometry that the wires create, seeming to block us from truly reaching up to the clouds. And the different angles from which you framed your shots: love!

  17. I love the birds over the wires and the palm tree. Great shots + editing, Jane.
    Ω

  18. Intriguing cloud studies. Like the birds doing their high wire act and especially like the Greenwich shot.

  19. A ceiling that stops us from looking beyond! Lovely shots though. Clouds have a habit of performing nicely, just when I go on my healthy exercise cycle rides and do not want to halt every few minutes!!

  20. Great shots of strange and wonderful clouds! We had them over here as well a couple of days ago. Looking like cotton blobs…

  21. I love these – the urban interruptions, the grid lines etc. are great against the amazing cloud patterns.

  22. Beautiful clouds in the sky. They look like cotton candy, and good to see that the sun was shining too. Love the quote by Marilyn Vos Savant. So true. To be wise, we must observe – listen and see what is happening around us, and ask why. Then again, we will never be able to answer why nature is so beautiful.

  23. Amazing clouds, esp. in b/w.
    Not often to see such a sky.

  24. Fantastic! All very beautiful, bur for me especially the first one is fenomenal. I like it in color very much too!
    (And isn’t is wonderful, running in the early morning?!)

    • Hi Noortje- Glad you like these incredible clouds…the color version is pretty neat, too. I do love to start my day with a run especially with so many great things to see. Thanks so much for appreciating.

  25. Great shots! They seem moody and full of emotion! 🙂

  26. Jane Sandy and I rented a great movie last night and wonder if you and Bob have seen it: Clouds of Sils Maria. The title caught my eye awhile ago because we have hiked in the Swiss Alps and Sils Maria is one we considered doing.Then I read good reviews on it. It is an intriguing but not too heavy psychodrama that we heartily recommend. The title has multiple meanings and applications, which is always fun.

    J

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  27. Noticed them too. Told Sandy they were mammary clouds, which in some places foretell a front coming. Not in SF at this time. But, it was nice to see a rare variation of our cloud pattern.

  28. My neck is hurting looking up!! ThAnk goodness ours is not! Great shots!

  29. Fascinating interplay of angles with free form fluffiness 😊

  30. Those skies are incredible…they look like movie-mood clouds. I love wires and power poles and often take shots just for my own enjoyment. Your combination of the two really works.

  31. nice; never thought of processing iPhone photos with silver efex pro!

  32. Great cloud texture. It really does feel like a ceiling, esp. in the first shot.

Love to hear what you think...

