Freight Trains


Freight train, freight train, run so fast
Freight train, freight train, run so fast
Please don’t tell what train I’m on
They won’t know what route I’m going

~ Elizabeth Cotten

 

Train, Clouds, Landscape, Wide Angle

Freight Train Leaving

 

Freight Train, Silos, Tracks

Maersk and Silos

 

 

I hear the train a comin’
It’s rolling round the bend
And I ain’t seen the sunshine since I don’t know when,
I’m stuck in Folsom prison, and time keeps draggin’ on
But that train keeps a rollin’ on down to San Antone..

~Johnny Cash

 

 

Black and White, Freight Train, Railroad

Train Track Crossing

 

 

Landscape, Train, Mountains, Color

Freight Train And Hills

 

 

Do you hear that whistle down the line?
I figure that it’s Engine Number 49
She’s the only one that’ll sound that way
On the Atchison, Topeka and the Santa Fe
~Johnny Mercer

 

 

Train, Clouds, Tracks, Crossing

Small Town Train Crossing, Arizona

 

 

Train, Freight train, Railroad, Landscape

Long Train

 

 

Train tracks, Reflections, Color, Landscape

Reflection, Train Tracks

 

Well the Illinois Central
And the Southern Central Freight
Gotta keep on pushin’ Mama
‘Cause you know they’re runnin’ late

~Doobie Brothers

 

 

Freight Train, Tracks, Crossing

Observer, Train Tracks

 

Freight Engine, Train, Railroad

Engine 4650

 

 

Train, Grain Elevator, Tracks, Landscape

Freight Train and Grain Elevator

 

This old engine
makes it on time
Leaves Central Station
at a quarter to nine
Hits River Junction
at seventeen to
at a quarter to ten
you know it’s trav’lin again

~Grateful Dead

 

 

Freight Train, Railroad

Freight Train Stop

 

 

Black and White, Train, Landscape

Landscape and Train

 

 

Train, Landscape, Clouds

Freight Train and Clouds

 

 

I’m sitting in the railway station.
Got a ticket to my destination.
On a tour of one-night stands my suitcase and guitar in hand.
And ev’ry stop is neatly planned for a poet and a one-man band.
Homeward bound

~Simon and Garfunkel

 

 

 

 

Categories: Black and White, Landscapes, Photography, TravelTags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

46 comments

  1. Awesome subject. Trains are intriguing. & fun to travel to destinations. Anytime i can, i do. Rode one thru switz & Italy once.
    Hey I didn’t realize that doobie bro song was about trains!
    Thanks so much for sharing! Dsup

  2. incredible! I can only admire

  3. Love this collection, lots of fun! Some great songs there.

  4. Nice series.

    Living near the rail tracks, we average four or five freight trains a day. Most carry coal. Fortunately, no derailments or leaking cars.

  5. Wonderful series Jane… I always enjoy seeing the world through your eyes!

  6. The quotes from some fantastic songs are just perfect! Reflection stands out in particular but as usual just a great series.

  7. “It takes a lot to laugh, it takes a train to cry” – Bob Dylan

    Great shots Jane!

  8. Fun post Jane – using the songs was a wonderful idea and the train theme is great. Especially like the lines in your final shot.

  9. Fantastic series. My shots of my babies arrived today. Loved them and thank you so very much.
    Love Leah

    Sent from my iPad

  10. These sights of the trains took me back to the sounds of the trains I used to hear while spending the night with my grandmother. SWEET MEMORIES….. Thanks for the reminder! You captured some great country singing lines!!

  11. LOVE these shots….some quite mysterious….loving landscape & train….fabulous….makes me want to go for a ride!!

  12. Fantastic photography Jane!

  13. I am still a kid inside and I am always fascinated by those big machines. Each time I see a train, a plane or a boat, I stand and enjoy the show. This post illustrate well this feeling. Good captures Jane and good songs too. 🙂

  14. Another fantastic imaging excursion! Safe travels!

  15. Jane, there is always some type of beauty in your photos, turning the mundane into something extraordinary. Things that passing by in a car, we could so easily overlook. Thank you for taking the time to stop and capture it for us!

  16. Jane, tremendous shots. I love the theme and especially like the panoramic shots of trains against the western landscape.

  17. Some great images and leading lines here Jane. Thank you for sharing. MM 🍀

  18. very beautiful post, thank you for sharing!!

Love to hear what you think...

