Weekly Photo Challenge: Light- Saturday in Surry Hills, Sydney


 

An afternoon stop at a wonderful restaurant, 4 Fourteen, enjoying lunch and the light in Surry Hills. 

 

“To love beauty is to see light.” ~ Victor Hugo

 

 

Light and a Touch of Salt, 4 Fourteen

Light and a Touch of Salt, 4 Fourteen

 

 

Keeping it Light, Plating at 4 Fourteen

Keeping it Light, Plating at 4 Fourteen

 

 

“You learn a lot about someone when you share a meal together.” ~ Anthony Bourdain

 

 

Please click on an image for a slideshow: 

 

 

 

“One of the very nicest things about life is the way we must regularly stop whatever it is we are doing and devote our attention to eating.”  ~Luciano Pavarotti

 

 

 

Categories: City Scenes, Food, Photography, Portraits, Travel, Weekly Photo ChallengeTags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

35 comments

  1. I will have to work my way into the kitchen next time I go out. I am surprised to see such wonderful soft light in a commercial kitchen. The steam and open flames really set the tone. These images really make me hungry.

  2. Love the Bourdain quote, it’s so true. The monochrome and bike shot are my fav’s! The bike shot is framed so nicely 🙂

  3. I really love the photos in the kitchen and especially the pots and pans and the wine glasses 🙂

  4. These are great – I love photographing the action in a bustling kitchen, it takes you mind off the wait and there’s always a reward at the end of it! Thanks for sharing!

  5. I enjoy your blogs so much- Your perspective of a subject is perfect!

  6. Great interpretation of the challenge. Tomorrow we fly to Sydney and will be there for a week and I’m so looking forward to it.

  7. Lovely pictures, with great light!

  8. I love these shots Jane! The bicycle and the black and white are my two faves!

  9. And they just let you into their kitchen?! Great photos, Jane :). Poor Pavarotti was right. Bless his soul.

  10. Fun choices and interesting take on the theme Jane! Pots and pans are my fav.

  11. Loved the bike shot; it’s so very GOTTA EAT NOW!!!! And, if you’ve been riding in the Surry hills, I expect that would be true.

  12. YUMMY….great details…..I am sure it will be a fav…..

  13. Always fantastic.

    How are you enjoying your time in Australia?

    Xoxoxo Helen

    Sent from my iPhone

    • Thank you so much, Helen. We are having a wonderful time exploring and learning new things. Friendly encounters and fun city living. I’m happy to see your comments– makes it feel not so far away. xoxo

  14. My personal fav- b&w hanging glasses.
    Too, love how you showcased the coziness of that restaurant – the two gals dining. Also employees enjoying their work. Fun set!

  15. Wow, I feel hungry! Love these pix.

  16. Lovely atmosphere you’ve captured of warmth, food & relaxation… funnily enough I could detect a homely one too!

  17. How was the food? Surry Hills is a rather lively place for the foodie. Hope you missed all the recent rain.

Love to hear what you think...

