Color My World: Clarion Alley, San Francisco


The Clarion Alley Mural Project (CAMP) is an artists’ collective formed in 1992 by six North Mission residents who facilitate other artists creating murals in the Clarion Alley between Valencia and Mission Streets and in the surrounding areas. The stated goals of the project are social inclusiveness and aesthetic variety. 

 

“Speak softly, but carry a big can of paint.” ~ Banksy

 

 

Freedom to Paint, San Francisco

Freedom to Paint, San Francisco

 

Laying the Groundwork

Laying the Groundwork

 

Tools of the Trade

Tools of the Trade

 

 

“I dream of painting and then I paint my dream” ~ Vincent Van Gogh

 

 

Dream It, Paint It

Dream It, Paint It

 

Camouflage Gear

Camouflage Gear

 

Door and Windows

Door and Windows

 

“I don’t paint dreams or nightmares, I paint my own reality.” ~ Frida Kahlo

 

(Click for a carousel of colors)

 

“Art is not what you see, but what you make others see.” ~ Edgar Degas

 

 

 

Categories: Abstract, Architecture, City Scenes, Color My World, Portraits, TravelTags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

36 comments

  1. Reblogged this on Allleys and Lanes / Ruelles des Verdun and commented:
    Good lane painting project in San Francisco.

  2. What a great organization (CAMP)! I do love seeing the colors of different artist murals and your last quote is perfect! One of my favorites of this group (there are many) is Camouflage Gear.

  3. Dreams comes true with color…………

  4. WOW…great colors….happy…inspiring….love the camouflage gear…..

  5. Wonderful colors and pictures! The well-crafted photographs of artists and their art works has something of art in the art (I’m not sure whether you can say it in English in this form) 🙂

  6. Gorgeous colors, I love these pictures!

  7. Wow! An explosion of color! Looks terrific!

  8. This is so exciting!! It is such an expression of the artist and the sheer size of the works add tremendous impact. I love that you brought this broadcast from SF to me through your photos!

  9. Wonderful colors beautifully captured!

  10. What a happy vibrant post… Love it… Linda

  11. Fantastic – love street art – we have some great examples in Birmingham, UK. I have posted several images over the last 18 months.

  12. The photo, freedom to paint San Francisco reminds me of pictures from the late sixties … // Maria 🙂

  13. I’ve always found it amazing how well these artists are able to work on the scale they do.

    • Hi David– I agree. I was mesmerized by the woman on the ladder how she achieved such great symmetry and balance of colors. It was very fun to watch and shoot. Thanks for stopping by and for your comment.

  14. Wow! I could have been standing around watching this forever. I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE color, as it says so much. My thought, even though unimportant: The colors you see are the reflections of the light that bounces off an object. However, sometimes the color we see is a reflection of the person who applies it!!!! Great post, Jane!

    • Hi Suzie, Your thoughts are always important to me and I am so glad you shared such an insightful comment. I am so glad these colors spoke to you– you are a colorful person! Thanks so much!

  15. vibrant and lovely! Ann

  16. Great shots Jane. We have a similar place called graffiti alley in Toronto and its a terrific place to photograph and enjoy the street art.

  17. I’m sorry I missed seeing this, Jane. Glad you were there to capture it for us.

Love to hear what you think...

