The Bay Bridge Lights, San Francisco


 

 

“True art is characterized by an irresistible urge in the creative artist.” ~Albert Einstein

 

 

 

 

 

“A work of art is the unique result of a unique temperament.” ~ Oscar Wilde

 

 

 

 

 

“To love beauty is to see light.” ~ Victor Hugo

 

 

 

 

 

The Bay Lights is the world’s largest LED light sculpture created by artist Leo Villareal. Its 25,000 lights are individually programmed by the artist to create a never-repeating, stunning display across the west span of the bridge.

 

 

Categories: City Scenes, Landscapes, Night Photography, Photography, TravelTags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

53 comments

  1. Brilliant timing pictures dear Jane

  2. These are my favorites!! You have a wonderful collection. Thanks for visiting my blog!! 😀

  3. A beautiful set, and I did not know about the light show. I guess I have to get to the Bay area sometime …

  4. Fantastic shots Jane but as I usually do with my own work I tend to be drawn in by monochrome thus that is my favourite but they are all spectacular. Best Mark.

  5. WOW…spectacular shots…..sooo perfect!!

  6. Again, you shown your talent! Love the last B/W!!!

  7. Spectacular views of the bridge! Great shots.

  8. Jane, you take so many beautiful photos! Your fifth photo in this serie is my favorite . // Maria 🙂

  9. they’re all quite good…. but to me, the b/w one takes the cake!!

  10. What a serene moment you’ve captured. Your photographs are lovely – I imagine it was hard to pull your eyes away to put them to your camera!

  11. This is one of the best photo-sets I’ve seen of this project. Very nicely done.

    As close as I was to SF last week, didn’t get a chance to see them. May be another time.

    • Hi David, Thank you! A friend has a place near the bridge and some are from her rooftop…I also got a few of Coit Tower in Pride colors which was cool. The others were taken at the Embarcadero and I was happy that the old piers were visible in the higher tide. Glad you enjoyed these and I appreciate your comment!

  12. Beautiful images, Jane. Thanks for sharing!

  13. Very lovely images. Thank you Jane!

  14. Thank you Jane for the great photos and blog!

  15. Just beautiful, especially at dusk. The colors are perfect.

  16. Nice work, Jane. Thanks for sharing with us in-landers! 🙂

  17. Loved the light show!
    Ann S

  18. Jane, these are spectacular. What an incredible tribute to our beautiful city!

  19. Beautiful Jane. I’m partial to the twilight shots 🙂

  20. Fantastic photos. The richness of the colour photos is what makes them stand out.

  21. Those are incredible, and very interesting that the light pattern does not repeat, how does it do that? The second one down is my fave!

  22. Great photos. I like the B&W shot but the colors in the first three photos are so rich despite the darkness – interesting fact about the lights. Thank you for sharing.

  23. Beautiful … I did. Not know that the lights had a “never repeating” pattern, a never ending fascination. Thank you. Linda

  24. que preciosas imagenes Jane. saludos

Love to hear what you think...

