Monochrome Mornings


 

 

“Contrast is what makes photography interesting” ~ Conrad Hall

 

 

Ice Break and Pine, Yellowstone

Ice Break and Pine, Yellowstone

 

Farm and Clouds, Washington

Farm and Clouds, Washington

 

 

“My first thought is always of light.” ~ Galen Rowell

 

 

Dome Reflections, Yellowstone

Dome Reflections, Yellowstone

 

 

Ice and Trees, Yellowstone

Ice and Trees, Yellowstone

 

 

 

“Saturate yourself with your subject and the camera will all but take you by the hand.” ~ Margaret Bourke-White

 

 

Leaves and Dew, Port Angeles, WA

Leaves and Dew, Port Angeles, WA

 

 

Thunderclouds, Washington

Thunderclouds, Washington

 

 

“Anything more than 500 yards from the car just isn’t photogenic.” ~ Edward Weston

 

 

 

Thermal Grasses, Yellowstone

Thermal Grasses, Yellowstone

 

 

Shadows, Badlands

Shadows, Badlands

 

 

 

“To me, photography is an art of observation. It’s about finding something interesting in an ordinary place…I’ve found it has little to do with the things you see and everything to do with the way you see them.” ~ Elliott Erwitt

 

 

Categories: Black and White, Flowers, Plants and Trees, Landscapes, Nature, Photography, TravelTags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

59 comments

  1. Breathtakingly gorgeous!

  2. Favs – Farm and clouds – a peaceful teeny speck on earth. Dome – so ansel adamslike wow.
    Cheers! dsup

  3. Really really beautiful, I loved them all 🙂

  4. Fantastic black and white images, Jane. Love Thermal Grasses, well done!!

  5. dramatic and beautiful images 🙂

  6. Wow – these are stunning!

  7. A very beautiful photo set. The B&W captures each scene very nicely, especially those towering thunder clouds.

  8. You know, I’m not a fan of black and white photos (the world comes in color, so I tend to think we should capture it that way) but yours came out really nice. I love the raindrops on the leaves. Makes me think I should see what some of my raindrop photos look like in black and white.

    • Hi Milka, Thank you. I love going through images and deciding which would work better in black and white. I am a huge fan of B&W and will often shoot with that in mind but some I just realize after the fact that they are good candidates for conversion. I think you would enjoy experimenting with it and your beautiful dew images may work well. I use Silver Efex Pro from Nik.

      • Oh, using some effect probably works well. I convert my photos in Photoshop and it takes a little bit to choose the best settings. Something to play with when I have a few minutes!

  9. Hi Jane,,,

    The monochromes are special… I like how you added a quote from Galen Rowell, one of my National Geographic teachers and mentors. You would have enjoyed him tremendously,,,if you could have met him.

    Stay behind the lens,,
    pamela ~~~~

  10. I think those all worked out great Jane, very well done!

  11. Gorgeous work, Jane. Nothing like the creative sense and demands of black and white. Superb.

  12. Beautiful photography – your B&W subjects are perfect for this series. Wow, those reflections in the water, I think B&W make it all the more dramatic.

  13. I like your choice of black & white for this series. My favourite was “Thermal Grasses, Yellowstone.” Almost looks like an abstract composition. Also love the quote by Elliott Erwitt. I need to keep re-reading that one.

    • Hi Patricia, Thank you- I was enamored with those grasses and with the midday light, they were such a contrast to the white soil in Yellowstone…called for a B&W conversion. That quote spoke to me, too. Appreciate it!

  14. SPOOKY…very moving…..great shots….

  15. Good stuff, Jane! Especially liked the last image, “Shadows, Badlands”!
    Thanks for sharing.

  16. Love seeing the world through your lens. Beautiful images. ML

  17. Beautiful Jane. Dome is my favorite as well.

  18. Lovely photos and insightful photography quotes. 🙂 Thanks for sharing, Jane.

  19. Wonderful selection of photos. My initial response was, Jane should repeat this blog in color. Don’t however think it would have the same impact. All very well done.

  20. Strange to be in Puno, Peru seeing your wonderful photos.
    Ann

  21. Your photo of Dome reflections, Yellowstone is amazing and so beautiful . Me and my eyes will never be disappointed with your photos and your blog is a pleasure to follow 🙂 // Maria

  22. I especially liked the thunder clouds and the Badlands .. really nice.

  23. Love the black and white!

  24. Jane, these are amazing shots. I need to look at them again. Beautiful.

  25. Monochromatic seems to be my dress code… You just upped the image with these photos… So enjoyed! Linda

Love to hear what you think...

