Badlands National Park, South Dakota


The Badlands are rugged, beautiful and vast. Located in the Black Hills, the park is a diverse landscape of sedimentary rock and clay which is continuously eroded by wind and water. The Lakota named this area the “bad lands” for its loose earth, steep slopes and deep sand, all of which impeded travel and uses.

Photographing the  gullies, canyons, hoodoos and ravines was an amazing experience as I watched the light play on the red clay, the vibrant yellow mounds and the striations of dark minerals.

 

“You don’t make a photograph just with a camera. You bring to the act of photography all the pictures you have seen, the books you have read, the music you have heard, the people you have loved.”~ Ansel Adams

 

Yellow Mounds and Tree

Yellow Mounds and Tree

 

Badlands Vista

Badlands Vista

 

“There are two people in every photograph: the photographer and the viewer” ~ Ansel Adams

 

 

Red Earth, Badlands

Red Earth, Badlands

 

 

Weathered

Weathered

 

 

Yellow Mounds

Yellow Mounds

 

 

“When words become unclear, I shall focus with photographs. When images become inadequate, I shall be content with silence.” ~ Ansel Adams

 

 

Morning Glory

Morning Glory

 

 

Layers, Badlands

Layers, Badlands

 

 

 “A photograph is usually looked at- seldom looked into.” ~ Ansel Adams

 

Canyon and Peaks

Canyon and Peaks

 

 

The View, Badlands

The View, Badlands

 

 

Please click here for more images of this amazing place…

 

 

Categories: Landscapes, Nature, Photography, TravelTags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

47 comments

  1. It’s an amazing world we live in.
    Just beautiful.

  2. This place is totally on my must see list. Great job, I think the first image is my favorite of the group although all are quite good. The colors, composition and perspective are excellent. I’d bet that would look real good printed up quite large!!

    • Hi Derrick, The yellow mounds in the Badlands was my favorite spot. I have loads of images. They have an impressionistic quality that is incredible. I loved photographing them. Thanks so much for enjoying these shots- I do hope you get there sometime soon. I agree, they would look good in a large print!

  3. You really captured all the beauty and glory of that area… A place I would love to see again! Great job! Always fun to see the world through your eyes.

  4. Wow, how cool! Must get there one day. Beautifully captured Jane.

  5. Wow … Wonderful photos of this different but magnificent landscape !! And i really appreciate your informative text about the Badlands … I look forwad to your next post !
    // Maria

  6. I feel like my geology and art history classes are combining right now. “Yellow Mounds and Tree” is very aesthetically pleasing. The colors are vibrant and I love the placement of the tree.

    • Gordon, Once again, you’ve made my day with your insights. I agree, the yellow mounds are like paintings and the colors are amazing. So glad you enjoyed these. Thank you very much!

  7. A great place for photographs but definitely not inviting to live in or travel through.

  8. A beautiful photo set. As close as it is, I’ve ever made the trip to the Badlands.

  9. How beautiful, amazing to see such greatness. Congratulations for the shooting.

  10. Wonderful pictures Jane! From the lushness of Kentucky to the arid landscape of the badlands! Thanks for taking us with you!
    Allison

  11. Jane, great shots..brings back memories of my 1967 visit…as I mentioned, when you return, I will regale you with the 50+ color slides I took of The Badlands when they were much younger…as was I…

    Greg Brown

  12. The “view”.. Anybody we know looking out over this vastness of incredibly strange beauty…
    Thank you for the tour.. Linda

  13. This is fantastic! My husband and I were over the weekend about going to see the Badlands. The scenery is amazing, hope we make the trip it’s a photographer and painters dream. I bet you loved every minute of the trip.

  14. OMG….these r STUNNING!! You just get lost in their beauty…..WOW…what a trip!!
    ENJOY!!

  15. Fantastic photos.

  16. Incredible photos! That last shot does a great job of giving you a perspective of vastness of the park. K

    • Hi Kath- Thanks! It was a very cool place to hike and photograph. I was glad to catch a few people hiking in some of my shots.. you are right, it does help provide some much needed perspective.

  17. Wow!! The striped layers of colour are so so gorgeous. Thank you for sharing!

  18. Stunning Jane. What a fabulous landscape.

  19. Thank you for capturing these majestic mountains of beauty . Keep sharing, love what you see and do!

  20. Fantastic photos as usual, Jane. Great colours: just as nature intended!!

  21. I was there a few years ago and I hope to return again. Great shots of a place not many get to see.

  22. Great shots Jane! I like them so much 🙂
    What a place!

  23. Wow, this is really breathtaking. I hope to save up and see all these wonderful sights. Great pictures and thanks for sharing 🙂

Love to hear what you think...

