Staircases, Chicago


 

 

 

Louis Sullivan Stairs, The Auditorium Building

Louis Sullivan Stairs, The Auditorium Building

 

 

Auditorium Building Beauty

Auditorium Building Beauty

 

 

 

 

55, The El

55, The El

 

 

Escape Route

Escape Route

 

 

 

Lobby Stairs, The Marquette

Lobby Stairs, The Marquette

 

 

 

 

Windows and Stairs, The Monadnock

Windows and Stairs, The Monadnock

 

 

Grand Staircase, The Art Institute

Grand Staircase, The Art Institute

 

 

 

Stair Study, Art Institute

Staircase Study, Art Institute

 

 

 

Buddha and Stairs, Art Institute

Buddha and Stairs, The Art Institute

 

 

 

Categories: Architecture, City Scenes, Photography, TravelTags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

36 comments

  1. Grand staircase my fav – so interesting. And the Escape Route – very cool.
    (I am traveling backwards in time via your travel photos playing catch up. Looks like a terrific road trip! ) dsupple

  2. love the perspective and composition of the first one, Jane. Nice!

  3. These are–as always–just simply beautiful. I truly enjoy your work.

  4. Makes me want to re-visit any city & take a closer look at what I’ve been missing!
    Great work, Jane!
    Be careful out there!!
    Anne

  5. You would have to leave me in my room if I had to use the Monadnock stairs! Loving ironworks Imparticularlymlove your first shot… Fun travels! Be safe!

  6. I love the different angles. I will now look at staircases differently. Wonderful eye.
    safe travels.

  7. A marvelous set. It reminded me of the old Alfred Hitchcock movie, Vertigo, with Jimmy Stewart.

  8. Very creative and terrific composition on these Jane!

  9. Love your staircase series, such beautiful architecture.

  10. Lovely Jane. My favorite is the first! Happy travels 🙂

  11. The staircases are wonderful. I feel like I am in better shape just by “looking” at them!

  12. SO MYSTERIOUS…..where do these stairs take you…HMMMMMM!! Love them!

  13. I recognized some of these, before reading the labels! Great angles and light detail.

  14. Intriguing plays on light and dark

  15. I eagerly open your mail to see what my new adventure will be. I like the angles of the shots of the stairs and all the other intersecting lines.
    Ann

  16. Jane, your photos captured beauty and grace in subjects that could be overwhelming. Amazing.

  17. Loved the Buddha going toward the light.

  18. Nice pictures Jane. Detailed work on those staircases. I really liked the last one, great light you captured there!

Love to hear what you think...

